26
May
09

MacBook Fail Scare

Last week, I had my first computer break down scare while working on the midterm project for Photoshop. Most of you would wholeheartedly agree that it’s one of the worst realizations in the world, up there with losing your wallet, or forgetting that your cell phone was in your pants pocket and it’s going through the washing machine (unfortunately, I’ve had both happen before)!

What Happened?

I was on a roll. Finally after a week of stressing out and even dreaming about that ever so time-consuming Photoshop project, I had finished! Only thing left to do was to save it, and how hard could that be? Apparently quite difficult in my case. I was literally 2 seconds away to save when suddenly, the screen went black!

The first thing I did was try the “On” button. Nothing. Wait a few seconds maybe?… Nope! Uh-oh. I must’ve grown about 30 gray hairs at that moment.

Tricky Laptop!

Do these MacBooks warn you when the battery is running low? I wouldn’t know, because I was listening to music in my room (helps me and my brain study), and I couldn’t hear anything.

That warning beep, if there was one, would’ve saved me loads of worry! Finally looking down, I noticed that the power adapter wasn’t plugged in; I must’ve kicked it out somehow in a fit of rage while Photoshopping for 5 hours straight! Poor laptop had been running on batteries for who knows how long! Silly feet.

Lesson Learned

Now I’ve never had a computer completely crash on me while working on something important (knock on wood) but some of my friends had things happen where they had to send their computer away to get fixed, and lose everything that was on there. So I was highly advised to get that external hard drive to backup my work, but I thought, hey, my computer is brand new, and I haven’t gotten into the huge projects yet, so I thought I’d wait.

Well, last weekend I took a trip over to my local NCIX store and forked over $90 for that backup hard drive. It shall be a pricey but much needed investment! Other things I learned:

  • Check to see if you’re computer is actually plugged in when it shuts down unexpectedly
  • Save what you’re doing every 30 minutes, no matter what you’re doing
  • Don’t listen to music so loud, your computer might be trying to tell you something!
0 Responses to “MacBook Fail Scare”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

